Twenty-Three

For some reason, I usually have a tough time celebrating my birthday. I don’t normally plan things to do because I tend to get a little erratic and my emotions go all over the place. I have conflicting feelings of wanting to celebrate and wanting the day to just pass over so that I can move on with the rest of my life. What I am sure of is that I feel strange when this time comes around. It may be because September 11 is associated with the attacks on the World Trade Center. It may be that September 11 is also the anniversary of the death of one of my uncles. It may also just be that I can’t get over the fact that I am getting older and my childhood and young adult years just seem to be fading into memory. Whatever the case, I get affected.

Today, I turned twenty-three. I blew out some candles and made a wish that, honestly, most likely won’t be coming true. But I guess it’s okay because I spent that time with some people who I care about and who actually care about me. Life is full of struggles, but I’m glad that I have friends who can put up with me and my moments. It makes getting through the day just a little easier and, sometimes, I need all the help I can get.

It’s always good to reflect on your birthday, or any day for that matter. What have I accomplished with my time here? I’ve gone through a lot of highs and lows and I have done many things that I didn’t expect I’d ever do. All this is a part of me. All this has made me into who I am today and all this will have an effect on who I am in the future. Sometimes, you have to embrace the bad with the good and learn from it. I still have a lot to learn, but that is part of the journey.

Twenty-three is such a great age for adventure. I’m going to learn more about myself and the world. This will be a year of growth.

It’s still a little weird to grasp, but I am twenty-three. I am twenty three.

Join in the Discussion!

