Spare Mistakes

Yesterday, I learned that you don’t always have to go looking for an adventure because sometimes, adventure winds up finding you.

That may sound a little cheesy, but it’s true. Earlier in the day, I was lamenting the fact that I haven’t had an adventure in a while. Life had just been consisting of school, sleep, food, and exercise. Well, a couple hours ago, I wound up going to Starbucks to do some studying with Harold and after we were done, we decided to get something to eat. While I was starting to drive away, my car started making this weird scratching noise. I thought I had run over something and was dragging it, but we found out that one of my front tires was flat. And so this adventure began.

Neither of us had ever changed a tire before, so this really was a new experience. We took the spare out of the trunk and found the jack and…well, that wrench thing that you use to take out the lug nuts holding the tire to the car. Taking them out was actually pretty fun since we got to hop on the wrench to help get the lug nuts unstuck. Anyway, after getting the car to pop up with the jack and replacing the tire, we felt so accomplished with what we had done. There was just one tiny problem. The spare was flat.

Yep. We made the rookie mistake of not checking the spare well enough before we put it on. Throughout this process, I was telling Harold about the I Love Lucy episode where Lucy and Ethel had to change the tire of a car and all the mistakes they ended up making, and here we were, making a mistake of our own. Ultimately, my dad and brother had to pick us up and my car is still in the parking lot until we can get the tire fixed or replaced.

Even though it was a flat spare, we changed a tire and that still is something to be proud of. Let’s just hope that after today, I won’t have to do it again for a long, long time.

Join in the Discussion!

