DOMA Theatre Company’s Avenue Q

On Wednesday, Rona and I went to the MET Theatre to see a preview performance of Avenue Q that was put together by the DOMA Theatre Company, and I thought it was really great. I hadn’t seen the musical before, but I was familiar with most of the songs already after first hearing about Avenue Q back when I was still an undergrad. I feel like it’s such a poignant show, seeing it now at 23, since the character of Princeton definitely reflects a lot of how I felt after graduating. I thought about purpose in the same way that Princeton did a lot, though now that I actually have a job, I feel much better about where my life is headed now.

The cast was great and those with puppets did an awesome job of portraying the emotions that the characters felt. It looked like Rona and I were the youngest ones there that night, but everyone else seemed to enjoy it too as the cast got a lot of laughs and a standing ovation. The actual run of the DOMA Theatre Company’s production goes from November 9 to December 16, with shows on Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays. You should can get more information and tickets at their website (which I already linked to above) so it’s worth checking it out.

The MET itself is like this hole-in-the-wall kind of theatre that is really easy to miss if you’re not looking for it, but it really is a nice venue for performances, even though its small size means that there really are not a lot of seats available.

So yes, this has made me want to see more plays and musicals in the future. The only other musical I’ve seen was Hairspray on Broadway during a leadership program back in high school, but that was so long ago. I have two playbooks now but I want more!

Join in the Discussion!

