Celebrating the Year of the Snake

I haven’t written in a little over two months, but I am back! Work took over my life for a while, but I’ve been able to do some more exploring and am trying to commit to writing more. It’s good practice for this novel that I want to be able to put together eventually.

Anyway, there are a few thing that happened this month that I want to cover and I’ll get to those things soon enough, but today I want to focus on the Chinese New Year Festival in LA’s Chinatown. The Year of the Snake actually started last weekend, but public festivities with a bunch of food trucks, artisans, and performers took place this weekend. This year is pretty important because, well, I was born in the Year of the Snake! Yes, way back in 1989. That’s why I needed to celebrate! This won’t happen again until 2025!

Chinatown

I decided to go on a public transpo adventure, moving from the orange line, to the red line, and finally, to the gold line. It was my first time using the gold line and I looooove that I can just get a $5 all-day pass on my tap card and use it to explore this city.

CNY Parade Panda

CNY Parade Bunny

The 114th Annual Golden Dragon Parade took place on the day I went and it was pretty amusing. There were a lot of interesting things I noted, like how awkward the mayor was as he rode in his grand marshall car addressing the crowd and how marching bands stay hydrated during the march. It was hot and I dressed anticipating it to be a cold day. My favorite parts were when the dragon and lion dancers came out, and there were a good amount of them! I could have done without the religious extremists standing in the sidelines waving their posters and preaching that everyone is going to hell.

CNY Parade Dragon

CNY Lion

During the festival, I bought sweet potato fries from FrySmith and I helped fold a couple pieces of paper for this giant paper snake that they are trying to construct. I also bought a small, wooden snake since I wanted to come out of the day with at least some kind of Year of the Snake memorabilia. The place was full of confetti and I loved it when people shot the confetti in the air and you saw them float along the hanging lanterns. I wish I had great pictures of that, but alas, maybe another time.

CNY Festival

Next weekend, I’ll actually be back in Chinatown to do the Firecracker 5K. Should be fun!

Join in the Discussion!

