Flipping Through the Pages

The Los Angeles Times Festival of Books used to be held at the UCLA campus. I still lived in the dorms during the first time I visited the event and I was glad that it was an easy walk to get there. A few years ago, for whatever reason that I haven’t researched to figure out, the festival moved to the USC campus. It doesn’t affect me too much since I don’t live at the dorms anymore, but it is still pretty inconvenient to drive to the USC area. I took the Red and Expo lines there last weekend instead.

Yes, this year’s Festival of Books was held on both the 20th and 21st of April. Since I was too worn out from the Mud Factor on the 20th, I ended up going on the Sunday.

LAFestivalofBooks

Honestly, there isn’t that big a difference in the festival between years. You have your booths. You have your performances. You have a lot of the same things that you’ve always had. Sure, the authors and speakers will always vary, but the general essence of the festival stays the same. I guess that’s why it wasn’t as exciting as the times I have gone before. I didn’t even buy a book because I already have a few that were neglected (and I am also rereading The Great Gatsby before the movie comes out). Anyway, here are some pictures from this year!

ScoobyBooth

Scooby Doo and a bunch of other costumed characters made appearances throughout the festival. They were also giving out Scooby Snax, these graham cracker cookies shaped like bones that I probably would have loved as a kid.

GatsbyBooth

This girl was in charge of the Gatsby movie booth. I ended up getting a poster from her, but man, she looked like she hated being there every time I saw her!

TravelBooks

I just decided to include this picture as well since I love browsing through travel-related books. I probably would have bought one if I actually had a place to go. Man, I need to get out of this country for a bit!

This guy totally ran up to Papa Smurf just so he could put a lizard on the Smurf nose.

This guy totally ran up to Papa Smurf just so he could put a lizard on the Smurf nose.

The USC stage. There was this really cool band that was performing, but I think they mentioned that they were still looking for a name.

The USC stage. There was this really cool band that was performing, but I think they mentioned that they were still looking for a name.

I know that I touched on how things are always the same at the festival, but two things that I love that have been consistent are the giant crossword puzzles and the “What Are You Reading?” wall. Working with other people to finish a crossword puzzle is always fun and reminds me of how I used to do that back when I was an undergrad. On the “What Are You Reading?” wall, people write book titles on the wall to answer that question. As I said earlier, I am rereading The Great Gatsby, so that was what I added.

CrosswordPuzzle

WhatAreYouReading

One day, I hope to have a book featured at the Festival of Books. Pre-order it now and I’ll make sure to give you a signed copy.

Join in the Discussion!

