Year of the 5K: Firefly Run

You would not believe your eyes
If ten million fireflies

Lit up the world as I fell asleep
– “Fireflies” by Owl City

And yes, this run actually did play this song before it started.

On May 31st, Evelyn and I met up at the Home Depot Center in Carson after work to take part in the Firefly Run, an evening 5k where runners are encouraged to wear bright lights to emulate those lightning bugs that the run is named after. For those that were lacking in glow, each participant was provided with two LED velcro strips that they could attach to their arms or legs. Of course, they could also do what I did and strap them together around the head. Some people went all out in lighting themselves up for the night, from simple glowstick necklaces to complete LED bodysuits. I wasn’t as prepared as I could have been, but at least now I have more ideas for next time.

FireflyRun

FireflyRun2

There was a giant screen near the starting line which was a great photo op for people since it was lit up with all sorts of lights throughout the night. Random smoke machines would provide some puffs once in a while, which I thought were unnecessary, but I guess they added to the rave-ish atmosphere? After sunset, people started to line up for the start of the race, which started promptly a few minutes after 8:30.

FireflyRun3

FireflyRun4

FireflyRun5

One of the really cool parts of the course was near the beginning where we ran through the Home Depot Center. The stadium was lit up in funky colors while playing funky music and it was just awesome looking down at the center of the stadium. Definitely a photo op that I did not take advantage of, though there were several people I saw pull off to the side for a picture. The pictures that I did get throughout the race naturally looked like this:

FireflyRun6

FireflyRun7

FireflyRun8

Maybe it was running at night, maybe it was me getting used to all these 5Ks, or maybe I was just having some good luck, but I ran my fastest 5K time so far during this race. Normally, I am slow and finish 5Ks in around 45 minutes. This time, I was less slow and finished around the 36 minute mark. Yes, I know there are runners that can complete 10Ks in half that time, but I am always just glad that I can finish. I am not a fast runner, and I don’t have the best endurance, but I will make it to the finish line!

FireflyRun9

FireflyRun10

At the end, I met up with Evelyn again, who finished ahead of me, and we took a few more pictures before heading back to the Valley. I really want to do another night run eventually and prepare more light attire beforehand. Not sure I can rock an LED bodysuit but maybe a glowstick mohawk?

Join in the Discussion!

