Getting Ready for the Tokyo 2020 Summer Olympics

Quite a bit has happened since I last posted, but I’m back now. I’ve been MIA due to being sick and spending much of my time studying for the first exam of a macroeconomics class that I decided to take. I also turned 24, which means that I am one year away from having lived a quarter of a century. Anyway, what has been the most exciting thing to happen to me this month?

This.

Buzzfeed

BuzzfeedArticle

Yes, I was featured on Buzzfeed for an article I posted called “9 Facts About The 1964 Summer Olympics To Get You Prepped For Tokyo 2020“. Tokyo was recently chosen to host the 2020 Summer Olympics, so I thought it was a great opportunity to look back at the first time the city hosted the games. I got featured on the Sports page first, then the Community, and then I finally made it to the front page. How awesome is that? Tokyo 1964 was the first Olympics to be held in Asia and there are other highlights that you should check out by reading the article.

Now that we are on the topic of Tokyo and the Olympics, let’s go more in depth about these upcoming Olympics, shall we? I mean, nevermind that it is still over five years away. This is exciting!

Tokyo beat out Madrid and Istanbul and was selected by the International Olympic Committee to host for the second time in 2020. If Istanbul had won, it would have been the first Muslim country to ever host the Olympics. Now that everything is official, Tokyo has begun to prepare, already developing a concept for a new National Olympic Stadium that you can check out below. The look is so futuristic and impressive and goes in line with the “Discover Tomorrow” motto of the Tokyo bid.


Unfortunately, with construction of this magnitude comes relocation. When I studied abroad in Shanghai, I learned about various communities who had their homes demolished to make way for the expo grounds. Kohei Jinno, who was evicted from his home in preparation for the 1964 Olympic Games,
now has to leave his home again along with many other locals for Tokyo 2020.

The 2014 Sochi, 2016 Rio, and 2018 Pyeongchang Olympics are still coming up before Tokyo gets its chance to shine, but you know I am going to be covering anything interesting that I come across. Let’s discover tomorrow together!

Join in the Discussion!

