Nowhere to Hide in Knott’s Scary Farm

It’s October and that means all the theme parks have prepared themselves for Halloween with special seasonal attractions. Disneyland has Mickey’s Halloween Party, Six Flags has Fright Fest, Universal Studios has Halloween Horror Nights, and Knott’s Berry Farm turns into Knott’s Scary Farm with its Halloween Haunt.

KnottsEntrance

KnottsScaryFarm

This was my first time ever going to Knott’s Scary Farm and the second time that I’ve gone to a theme park to get scared. I went to Halloween Horror Nights last year and that was fun but pretty crowded, so I was expecting the same for Knott’s. Rona, Liz, and I got to the park before it was open for the night and met up with Shelena and Evelyn to start of our adventure through all the mazes and scare zones.

KnottsCharacters

There were twelve haunt attractions and I wanted to hit up as many as I could before going home. Surprisingly, most of the lines were not long and I not only got to go through 11/12 of the attractions, but I got to go on a few rides as well. Maybe it was because it was a Sunday night or maybe it was because Knott’s is more out of the way to a lot of people than Universal Studios. Either way, I never felt like the park was too crowded to function.

KnottsScaryFarmMazes

KnottsTrapped

TrappedTicket

Here are the eleven haunt attractions that we hit up:

  1. Dominion of the Damned – This was the first maze that we went through so I definitely got scared quite a few times. There was a photo station before the maze where we took two pictures: one normal and one looking scared.
  2. Delirium – For some reason, the exit from Dominion of the Damned led directly to the entrance of Delirium. We got to go through these first two mazes pretty quickly.
  3. Endgames: Warriors of the Apocalypse – This maze was right across from the entrance of Dominion of the Damned. There was another photo station at the beginning where we also took two pictures: one normal and one where we got a surprise gist of air blown at us.
  4. Trick or Treat – I remember the set design really standing out at this maze. Rona and I were at the front of our group and, at some point, we got chased far enough that we became separated from the rest.
  5. Pinocchio Unstrung – Evil Pinocchio with some surprise air-blowing action.
  6. Trapped – Trapped is a $60 reservation-only experience for up to six people, where your group has to go through several rooms and complete different tasks to make it to the end. The five of us set our reservation for 8:30 PM (yes, we actually got through five mazes in the first hour-and-a-half of the night) and when we arrived, we got our wristbands and signed the release form explaining that we might be harassed a bit through the maze. There was also a safety word given in case we couldn’t handle the maze and needed to be taken out. If one person said the safety word, then the whole group had to leave. I’m not going to spoil anything about what we had to do, but we finished and it was not as bad as I had expected it to be. Some people in our group were disappointed, but some of us thought it was fun and would do it again next year, if they changed things up again.
  7. Forevermore – Forevermore features nods to The Raven, The Cask of Amontillado, The Pit and the Pendulum, and other stories written by Edgar Allan Poe. We were pretty excited to go through this maze and had waited until we met up with our friend Lina and her group to go in. The references were cool and interesting, but it just wasn’t scary. I felt like I had gotten scared enough times earlier that I just wasn’t fazed as much as I possibly could have been.
  8. The Witch’s Keep – This is actually just the mine ride redecorated to tell the story of a witch. There’s nothing that pops out at you or anything and the creepy-looking miners are probably the scariest part of the ride.
  9. Black Magic – Houdini’s ghost returns to wreak havoc. For some reason, they imply that Houdini went to hell, which is kind of weird. There was another photo station for this ride which took two pictures that added zombie features to everyone’s faces.
  10. Uncle Willy’s BBQ Slaughterhouse – This was probably my favorite maze. It was scary and the slaughterhouse theme was sickening but fun.
  11. Gunslinger’s Grave – Probably my least favorite from the night. The idea of undead cowboys just isn’t scary to me.

The only haunt attraction that we didn’t go through was Mirror Mirror. This maze had the longest line and people who exited kept mentioning that it just wasn’t worth it. Since it was already 12:30 AM and the park was closing at 1, we decided to just ditch the line and go to the Slaughterhouse and Gunslinger Grave instead.

KnottsGroup1

KnottsGroup2

KnottsGroup3

KnottsGroup4

TrappedGroup1

TrappedGroup2

Besides the mazes, we also got to go on a few rides including Bigfoot Rapids, the Timber Mountain Log Ride, Supreme Scream, Xcelerator, and Ghostrider. Ugh, Ghostrider gave me such a headache. Never going on a wooden coaster again!

Xcelerator

SupremeScream

Ghostrider

Let’s talk about the monsters a bit. At two different instances, I had a monster making fun of how scared I was by mimicking me. It was both creepy and funny at the same time and the more I think about it, the more it stands out as one of my favorite parts of the night. Outside of the mazes, the monsters were kind of annoying, particularly these rollerblading ones that tend to skid really close to people. I also now have a grudge against a clown who took the map I was looking at and proceeded to crumple it and tear it apart. Clown, I will find you.

KnottsFog

KnottsJack

KnottsFiesta

There was also a lot of fog sometimes and there were times where you just couldn’t see anything around you. Not sure if I liked it or not. I liked that it did make things scarier and monsters would pop up out of nowhere, but I also had to try hard to avoid hitting walls or people walking in the opposite direction.

KnottsHanging

KnottsGroupEnd

I still can’t believe that we got to do so much and it was worth the $42 ticket. I think next time, I want to try and catch some of the shows as well since the glimpse of The Hanging that we saw was pretty funny. Overall, it was such a fun experience and I definitely want to go back to Knott’s Scary Farm next year.

Join in the Discussion!

