Journey to the Last Bookstore

Last week, I finished reading Mr Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan. Ever since, I’ve been looking around the internet for ideas on what to read next. I eventually came across a Buzzfeed article listing various books that should be read before the movies come out this year and one in particular interested me with its premise: A Long Way Down by Nick Hornby. My new goal was to find this book and I decided that it was a perfect time for an adventure.

VictorClothingCo

The afterschool program I oversee is still closed for winter break, so I left work early on Thursday to explore downtown. As usual, I parked at the North Hollywood red line station and hopped on the subway, making my way towards Pershing Square. I didn’t have lunch yet, so I made a stop at Grand Central Market and, since it was across the street, I also visited the Bradbury Building. After some pictures, it was time to fulfill my mission to find this novel by heading to…The Last Bookstore.

TheLastBookstore

LBTopView

LBLabrynth

The Last Bookstore. Doesn’t it sound so mysterious? Located on the corner of Spring and 5th, this place does have a kind of whimsical charm that makes the name so fitting. There are many books and records to peruse.

Oh, there’s also a giant mammoth head…

LBWoolyMammoth

…And flying books…

DiagnosisInstallation

Diagnosis: An installation by Jena Priebe and David Lovejoy

…And some other nifty art installations.

LBBirdcage

After wandering the aisles for quite a bit, I made my way over to the modern fiction section to see if they had what I was looking for….and they did! Success! A Long Way Down became my first purchase at this bookstore. Since I was pretty nearby already, I also decided to walk down to Bottega Louie and buy a five-piece box of Earl Grey macarons. Mm, best flavor they have!

EarlGreyMacarons

I will definitely be back at The Last Bookstore once I finish this book and start hunting for my next one. I’m aiming to finish at least two books a month now, so we’ll see if I can accomplish that. Here’s to a year of new adventures, both on and off the page!

Join in the Discussion!

