Tomorrow is a Latter Day: The Book of Mormon at the Pantages Theatre

Hello! My name is Alvin. And I would like to share with you the most amazing post.
Hello! My name is Alvin. It’s a post about a musical that I saw a few days ago.

Oh god, that didn’t turn out as funny and clever as I thought it would be when it first came up in my mind, but I’m just going to stick with it! Last Thursday, I went to see The Book of Mormon by Trey Parker, Robert Lopez, and Matt Stone at the Pantages. It was actually the first time that I had visited that theatre and I took ended up taking the red line from work to the Hollywood/Vine station, which is conveniently right across the street.

PantagesTheatre

I can’t really speak too much about the interior of the Pantages, aside from saying that it has such an Old Hollywood art deco feel that the big theatres from the late 1920’s and early 1930’s have. The statues and the design of the chandeliers and walls were real stand outs and there were a lot of people taking pictures before the show started. It’d be cool to go on a tour of this theatre, like I did with the United Artists Theatre, to learn more about the history of this place. I definitely want to try and check out all of Los Angeles’ theaters eventually.

PantagesInterior

PantagesStatue

PantagesStageMezzanine

BookofMormonSouvenir2

So how was the musical? It was incredibleeee. Okay, that was another attempt at a song reference. Anyway, the Book of Mormon was hilarious and I have listened to the whole original Broadway cast recording several times already. The plot and the songs were fun and interesting and it was a show that left you feeling good at the end. Those are the best! The cast and crew did a great job and Cody Jamison Strand was particularly awesome as Elder Cunningham.

Elder Cunningham also had the line that probably got the best reaction because it was relevant to current events and definitely not part of the original script of the musical. Throughout the musical, he keeps referring to the character Nabalungi by other names such as Neutrogena and Neosporin, but he got the most applause when he called her Adele Dazeem, the name John Travolta introduced Idina Menzel as at this year’s Academy Awards before her performance of “Let It Go” from Frozen. Fun Fact: Josh Gad, who played Olaf in Frozen, originated the role of Elder Cunningham in the first run of The Book of Mormon on Broadway.

PantagesStage

BookofMormonSouvenirs

My favorite song was definitely “I Believe”, but “Spooky Mormon Hell Dream” and “Hello” are up there too. Here is Andrew Rannels from the original Broadway cast performing “I Believe” at the 65th Tony Awards:

The Book of Mormon has won nine Tony Awards including best musical and best original score. The musical will end its current run in LA on May 11, so you still have time to get tickets and check out the show because it really is pretty spectacular.

BookofMormonEvelyn

BookofMormonPlaybook

So far, I’ve seen Hairspray, Avenue Q, and The Book of Mormon live. Wicked comes back to the Pantages in December so I am hoping to finally get to see that, but there are still about 250 or so more days until it premieres.

Remember, the only latter day that matters is tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “Tomorrow is a Latter Day: The Book of Mormon at the Pantages Theatre

Join in the Discussion!

