Bombs Away: Sheppard at the Roxy

I don’t buy CDs as frequently as I did when I was in high school, but the most recent one that I’ve gotten is Bombs Away by the Australian band Sheppard. I saw them play at the Roxy on June 8 and, not only was it my first time seeing Sheppard live, it was also the first time I’ve ever been to the Roxy.

The Roxy was smaller than I had anticipated, but it made for a nice intimate venue to catch an up-close look at the band. Sheppard is still relatively new and Bombs Away is only their first studio album, so most if not all of the songs that they performed that night were tracks from their debut.

SheppardConcert

SheppardConcert2

SheppardConcert3

“Geronimo” is their most popular song at the moment, but other tracks that I like in particular are “A Grade Playa” and “Find Someone”. The latter is so emotionally charged and angsty that it shot up straight to be my favorite.

After the concert ended, the band chose to do a meet-and-greet with everyone who came out to see the show. I got a signed poster and also took a picture with the band, but the lighting was just so dim in the venue that it ended up kind of funky. I asked if we could take a weird picture instead of a normal smiling one.

SheppardConcert4

They all seem like a cool group of people and I am looking forward to hearing more tracks from them in the future.

Join in the Discussion!

