I Left on a Wednesday (A Prologue of Sorts)

Ever since I was young, I loved to travel and see places that I had never been to before. I even wanted to be a travel journalist for a significant period of my life. There was always this dream, a pretty common dream for most people I think, to spend a few weeks backpacking through Europe, but issues with time and money always necessitated putting it off another year until it was a question of whether it would ever actually happen.

I wasn’t even supposed to go this year. I had planned to go to graduate school, I applied, I got in, and I even accepted. That was the track that my life was supposed to follow. But ultimately, I withdrew. I felt like I was rushing myself to make life decisions that I wasn’t 100% confident in yet. I wanted to experience more out of life and I knew that once I had started graduate school, that would essentially be my life until classes were over. After that, I would need to find a job. Who knows when I would have the luxury of being able to travel for a few weeks again?

I left on a Wednesday. I didn’t really let too many people know that I was leaving. I’m not sure if it makes sense, but I needed to leave. I felt a little stuck and I was looking for a big change to help pull me out of this rut. I had already left my job and made the decision not to continue pursuing graduate school for this year, so I needed something else and I turned to travel as the antidote to my growing indifference.

In any case, I’m back home and I have four weeks of stories to catch up on. I think it will be good to recap my adventures on this blog as I get to relive them all over again. Hopefully, you might get inspired to visit some of these places too. I realize that there is so much to post from this trip, so I’ll try to be more consistent in having new content out as soon as possible compared to how I have tended to post in the past.

Once I finish recapping actual events from the trip, I might go over other information that people might find interesting, such as what I packed, wish I had packed, and didn’t need during the trip or more extensive reviews of the different hostels I stayed at. For now, I’ll just be covering what I did, though you are also welcome to leave any questions in the comments section of these posts and I’ll answer as soon as I can.

I left on a Wednesday. My family drove me to LAX and I checked into my one-way Norwegian Air flight to London. I didn’t know when I would be back, but that was okay. I was starting a new adventure.

Here is where the story begins.

Next Post: EuroTrippin’: London (Part 1) – Welcome to London

Join in the Discussion!

