EuroTrippin’: London (Part 2) – Abbey Road

I might change the title of some of these posts sometime in the future, but for now, I’ll just keep it simple.

On Friday morning, I woke up pretty early and went to my hostel’s lounge for some tea while I looked up directions to the British Museum on my phone. While looking at the map of the area, I realized that Abbey Road, famous for being featured on the cover of the Beatles album of the same name, was only one tube station away from where I was, so I decided I would make a quick trip out there first.

AbbeyRoad

At this point, I had done more research on getting an Oyster card and decided on getting a Zone 1-2 travelcard. Swiss Cottage is in Zone 2 and I was planning on taking the tube a lot during my stay, so I thought it was worth the price. It was also very convenient just having to tap the card to get in and out of the station.

From Swiss Cottage, I rode the Jubilee line one stop to St. John’s Wood, and after a short walk, I found myself near Abbey Road Studios and a pretty nondescript crosswalk which had a few people taking pictures and waiting for traffic to let them cross.

AbbeyRoad1

AbbeyRoad2

There’s also a webcam recording that stretch of the road where you can let other people see you cross live or go back and take screenshots of your crossing.

That's me!

That’s me!

Abbey Road Studios is nearby and people have taken the liberty to write messages on their front walls, though it has kind of extended to other walls as well.

AbbeyRoadStudios

AbbeyRoadWall

I didn’t spend too much time here because there isn’t really that much to see or do. It was time to start heading out further into the city!

Next Post: EuroTrippin’: London (Part 3) – British Museum

Join in the Discussion!

