EuroTrippin’: London (Part 6) – Malaysia Night in Trafalgar Square

When I was walking to the National Gallery, I noticed that there were a lot of tents and people in Trafalgar Square. Apparently, it was Malaysia Night and there were various food vendors, performances, and more showcasing Malaysian culture in the middle of London. I didn’t know this was happening until I came across the event and, as I said in my previous post, it was my first happy surprise of the trip. It’s things like this that made me glad I didn’t plan everything out to a tee and left a lot of time open to whatever comes up.

MalaysianFestival2015

MalaysianFestivalNationalGallery

After visiting the National Gallery, I headed straight into the square for some Malaysian food and ended up buying kway teow goreng (this noodle dish that was just a little spicy) and sirap limau (a refreshing drink that translates as “lime syrup”) from Tukdin. I also got an apam balik, a sort of Malaysian pancake, filled with peanuts and sweetcorn. This totally beat buying my meal at the grocery store and I thought it was just incredibly random and amusing that I was enjoying Malaysian food for the first time during my first full day in London.

MalaysianFoodTents

KwayTeowGoreng

SirapLimau

ApamBalik

Performances included traditional song and dance and not-so-traditional covers of more modern pop songs.

MalaysianFestivalDancers

MalaysianFestivalPerformer

Apparently, this is the sixth year that this event has been happening, but there are other days dedicated to other places around the world as well.

MalaysianFestivalSign

MalaysianFetivalStage

Once it got dark, I decided to leave. I didn’t want to go straight to the hostel just yet so I made a quick stop at Piccadilly Circus to catch my first glimpse of the space at night before I headed back to get some rest. It was only my first full day in London, but it was a pretty busy one.

Next Post: EuroTrippin: London (Part 7) – Undiscovered London’s Free Walking Tour

Join in the Discussion!

