EuroTrippin’: London (Part 14) – Cruising Down the Thames

I decided to use my penultimate full day in London to do some errands. The first thing that I did was head to the Cambridge Theatre in Covent Garden to buy a ticket for the night’s production of Matilda: The Musical, but more on that in my next post. I then went to the National Gallery to buy a new postcard of Van Gogh’s Sunflowers. I usually get postcards of famous paintings that I like and have seen in person, but the one that I got the first time I went to the National Gallery got a little scratched up, so I wanted to get a new one. Yes, I’m weird.

The Philippine Embassy is actually nearby the National Gallery, so I took a detour to take a quick look at the building.

PhilippineEmbassy

After that, I needed to go back to the Tower of London to buy another postcard that had gotten a little messed up (I kept all the postcards I got pressed in a notebook from that point on). Rather than take the tube, I thought it would be cool to take a river bus from Embankment to the Tower Millennium pier so that I could get a chance to ride down the River Thames. The river bus was pretty spacious and it was cool to get a different perspective on some of the sights that I’ve seen in the city.

ThamesRiverBusInside

ThamesMillenniumBridge

ThamesRiverBus

There was one more stop that I needed to make, and it was yet another return to a place that I had already been. I decided that I did actually want to buy a program for Measure for Measure, the play that I had seen the night before, so I crossed the Millennium Bridge and headed towards Shakespeare’s Globe. I actually finished all these errands faster than I had anticipated, so I decided to make a quick trip to the Tate Modern, which is undergoing some renovations.

TateModern

TateModernConstruction

MarilynDiptych1962

ViewFromTateModern

It was nice to spend some time just traveling around London, but it was also a little hectic going from one place to another and making sure I completed whatever tasks that I needed to complete. I didn’t spend too much time at the Tate as I wanted to head back to my hostel to eat and get some rest before heading out again. Time to see my first West End musical!

Next Post: EuroTrippin: London (Part 15) – Matilda The Musical at the Cambridge Theatre

Join in the Discussion!

