EuroTrippin’: Barcelona (Part 9) – Wandering

This post is going to be a little different from other ones since there isn’t really a central location that I am focusing on. After visiting Casa Battló, the rest of the day was a little all over the place, with me hopping from one place to the next. I first made a quick stop at the nearby Casa Milá, another one of Antoni Gaudí’s creations, but I didn’t go inside. I’ll just have to do it next time.

CasaMila

Afterwards, I just started walking down the street and ended up turning the corner and finding a gelato place. There were a lot of your typical flavors, but I wanted to try something that would be harder to find back home. I ended up getting a scoop of crema catalana, which I just found out is the Catalan version of crème brûlée. I was very happy with this decision.

BarcelonaStreet

GelateriaArtesanal

CremaCatalanaGelato

I went back to the Gothic Quarter so that I could go inside the Catedral de Barcelona since there is free entry after 5:45 PM. Really, I was there to see the thirteen geese that is kept there in honor of the story of Saint Eulalia, but the inside was pretty nice too.

BarcelonaCathedral

BarcelonaCathedral2

BarcelonaCathedral3

BarcelonaCathdralGeese

For dinner, I wanted to get some paella since I still hadn’t had any in Spain. I looked up different places that were walking distance from my hostel on Yelp and chose a restaurant called El Viejo Pop. There, I ordered a seafood paella and a glass of sangria.

SeafoodPaella

Both were delicious, but I definitely had a harder time finding my way back to the hostel afterwards since it was dark and I was a little inebriated. I thought I could take a shortcut through an alleyway, but it ended up looking like a giant maze, so I backtracked and eventually made my way out. Once I figured out how to get to the Arc de Triomf, the trek to the hostel became much easier.

Like I said, this post was a little all over the place, but that’s just life, I suppose.

Next Post: EuroTrippin’: Barcelona (Part 10) – Platja de la Barceloneta

Join in the Discussion!

