EuroTrippin’: Barcelona (Part 12) – Flamenco and Sangria

On my last night in Barcelona, I decided to hang out with some of my fellow hostellers. Hostelmates? I hung out with other people staying at my hostel.

The hostel hosts weekly culture nights to introduce people staying there to different Spanish traditions. On this night, a group of us went to see a small flamenco show at a place called Gracia Latina. I was actually thinking about doing a paid tapas tour that night with the group that ran the free walking tour, but my bunkmate, a 30-year old journalist from Germany named Manuel, convinced me to tag along on the flamenco trip instead.

Flamenco is a music genre and dance that has its origins in the Andalusian region of Spain. Flamenco has spread all over the world and I have even written about its significance in Japan once for a globalization essay. Can you believe that there are more flamenco academies in Japan than in Spain? The dance involves rhythm stomping and some fierce emotions. One of the guys in our group was so captivated by the dancer’s intensity that he basically fell in love.

Flamenco

Flamenco2

Flamenco3

Here is an example of a flamenco dance that I found on YouTube:

We had some drinks there and it was my first time trying a Ron Collins, a cocktail similar to the American Tom Collins that replaces gin with rum. As we were deciphering the menu, we realized that “ron” is just “rum” in Spanish.

Afterwards, we met up with some more people from our hostel who were taking part in a pub crawl that night. They were at an Irish bar, but moved on quickly to this other bar where a group of us shared a monster container of sangria. We played a weird game based on initial assumptions where everyone pointed to someone who they thought fit a certain statement (ex: “Who is most likely to forget anything that happened tonight?” or “Who is most likely to make out with a stranger?”). Whoever was pointed to the most for each question would have to take a drink. It was a little weird since most of us hadn’t met each other until that night, but it was still pretty fun.

SangriaWithHostel

Everyone ended up outside for some reason, but I was getting tired and just wanted to sleep since I had a flight to catch the next day. They wanted to go to a more intense club space, so I just left to head back to the hostel. Thank goodness I don’t usually get hangovers.

Next Post: EuroTrippin’: Madrid (Part 1) – Bienvenidos a Madrid

Join in the Discussion!

