EuroTrippin’: Madrid (Part 8) – Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía

When Romina and I got back to the hostel, I got some more missed messages from Carmen trying to meet up. She said that she and Jeffery were planning on going to Museo Reina Sofía, but didn’t mention a time. I tried to message her back, but I doubted that she would be able to see it anyway.

I did end up doing some thinking and figured that, if they were to be at the Reina Sofía Museum, they would probably go during the free period after 7 PM. From 7 PM to 9 PM on Mondays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays, the museum is free to everyone. Normally, general adult tickets cost €8 (~$ USD). I decided to take a chance and see if I could find them while Romina stayed at the hostel to take a nap.

ReinaSofiaMuseum

Maybe serendipity had something to do with it or maybe I’m just a really good detective, but I ran into Carmen and Jeffery in the first area that I checked. They had actually just gotten to the museum not too long before I had arrived.

Anyway, now that I’ve gotten mention of that out of the way, time to focus more on the museum itself. The Reina Sofía is dedicated more to contemporary art from the 20th century, with works by famous Spanish artists, like Pablo Picasso and Salvador Dalí, in its collection. The museum was established in 1992, meaning that it is actually younger than I am.

Contemporary and modern art can be very hit or miss for me, but there is enough variety that I feel like most people will be able to find something interesting. Some rooms can also be particularly unsettling, such as a room that had several TVs turned on that either played static or strange videos including one of a woman wearing a yeti mask or something trying on clothes.

Here are some pieces that caught my eye:

  • “Chemistry of Music” by George Brecht, 1969

ChemistryOfMusic

  • “Lanas” by Juan Hidalgo, 1972 to 2009

Lanas

Lanas2

  • “Indestructable Object” by Man Ray, 1923 to 1933

IndestructableObject

  • “Pierrot tocant la guitarra (Pintura cubista)” by Salvador Dalí, 1925

PierrotTocantLaGuitarra

  • “Figures” by Karel Appel, 1952

Figures

Photography isn’t allowed everywhere though and you can’t take a picture of the museum’s most famous painting, Pablo Picasso’s “Guernica” from 1937. This is a massive painting depicting the suffering after the bombing of Guernica, a village in Spain, during the Spanish Civil War. Carmen, Jeffrey, and I stood in front of this painting for a while and had a good discussion both on how we interpreted the painting and how subjective art is as a whole.

Guernica

A little before 9 PM, the museum started to clear out its visitors so it could close. The three of us went back to the hostel to meet up with Romina and headed out again for some dinner and drinks.

Next Post: EuroTrippin’: Madrid (Part 9) – A Night Out in Madrid

Join in the Discussion!

