EuroTrippin’: London II (Part 9) – The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

On my last night in London, I decided to go watch a play. I had already seen Matilda: The Musical at the Cambridge Theatre during my first time in the city, so I wanted to see another show, especially since tickets are much cheaper than what I would typically find in a big production in Los Angeles or New York.

I had seen posters for The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time at various tube stations across London and I have actually read the book by English author Mark Haddon, so I thought it would be interesting to see how his story translated on stage. The morning of the show, I went to the Gielgud Theatre to purchase one of the £15 (~$22.67 USD) tickets that they had for sale. My seat wasn’t that great at first, but when people didn’t show up to fill some seats in the middle, everyone in my row ended up scooting up to a better position.

TheCuriousIncidentOfTheDogInTheNightTime

GielgudTheatre

The novel and the play is essentially the story of a fifteen-year-old boy named Christopher who discovers a dead dog and decides to find out who killed it. Christopher thinks and feels differently from most people, though it is never explicitly mentioned if he has Asperger’s syndrome or any other disorder.

The stage looks relatively simple at first, but it is actually incredibly complex. Different squares pop in and out from the walls and the ground and some open up like drawers or cabinets. Lights also play a very important role in the show in creating new environments and showcasing a feeling of chaos that Christopher struggles with often. The production was so creatively done and the play is tied with Matilda: The Musical for most Olivier awards won with seven, including Best New Play. I can actually say that I’ve seen both.

GielgudTheatre2

TheCuriousIncidentStage

Though the mystery is a big part of the play, the show really is about overcoming limits set by society on what an individual can do. It was bittersweet going to bed that night. I left the show a little inspired, but it was also the last real thing that I’d be doing In Europe before heading back home.

Next Post: I Left on a Wednesday (An Epilogue of Sorts)

Join in the Discussion!

