The Killer Costumes of AHS

To be honest, I’m not a huge fan of the horror genre, which is a little strange since I do love going through haunted mazes at theme parks during the Halloween season. I guess there’s a difference between sitting down and just staring at a screen and actually being immersed in the experience.

Anyway, when the first season of American Horror Story came out, I was intrigued, but I didn’t watch it. The second season came and went and I passed that up too. Finally, when the third season, Coven, went to air, I figured it would be a good time to give this series a shot an I actually really enjoyed it. From there, I binged the previous two seasons on Netflix and kept up with Freak Show and Hotel after that (I didn’t really get into Roanoke). Since I had invested a good chunk of time on this series, I was interested when I found out that the Paley Center for Media was holding a retrospective, called American Horror Story: The Style of Scare, featuring actual costumes from each season.

AHSStyleOfScare

I have never been to the actual Paley Center before, though I have attended Paleyfest, a series of panels featuring stars from several different television shows. I went to a panel that focused on NBC’s Community and still have a poster up on my wall that was signed by some of the cast. The Paley Center itself is located in Beverly Hills, very close to Rodeo Drive.

PaleyCenterForMediaAHSPaley1

The lobby of the building showcased some costumes from Season 1, with Season 2 covering the rest of the ground floor, and Seasons 3 to 6 on the floor above. Here are some of the different items that are on view.

Season 1: Murder House

AHSPaley2AHSPaley3

Season 2: Asylum

AHSPaley4AHSPaley5AHSPaley6

Season 3: Coven

AHSPaley8AHSPaley7

Season 4: Freak Show

AHSPaley9AHSPaley10AHSPaley11AHSPaley12

Season 5: Hotel

AHSPaley13AHSPaley14AHSPaley15AHSPaley16

Season 6: Roanaoke

AHSPaley17AHSPaley18

The exhibit is running until August 13, after an extension that put it past its original closing date at the end of July, so you can still stop by to check it out FOR FREE at the Paley Center between 12 PM and 5 PM from Wednesday to Sunday this week.

Join in the Discussion!

